Oman to suspend arrivals from 10 countries starting February 25

Gulf Business: Oman will suspend entry of passengers from 10 countries starting at 12am on Thursday, February 25, in a directive which will remain in place for 15 days.

The 10 countries are: Lebanon, South Africa, Brazil, Sudan, Nigeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Guinea, Sierra Leone and Ethiopia.

The country’s Supreme Committee tasked with dealing with the Covid-19 pandemic said on Monday that travelers who have visited any of these 10 countries within the preceding 14 days are also banned from entering the sultanate.

Exempt from this decision, are Omani citizens, diplomats, health workers and their families.

The Supreme Committee urged citizens and residents to avoid travelling abroad, and to do so only in cases of extreme necessity.

Starting Monday February 15, Oman introduced mandatory institutional quarantine for all arrivals into the country via its land, air and sea borders, the cost of which is borne by the passengers.

It has sealed its international land borders which will remain closed until further notice, except for the passage of trucks.

Gulf Business Contribution Time: 23-Feb-2021 08:10 (GMT)
Gulf Business Last Update Time: 23-Feb-2021 08:10 (GMT)